It was definitely a challenge. I wanted to be able to do a good job, but I was worried that the walls I did wouldn't look as good as the guys' walls. Since there were four of us and four walls, we each did our own wall. It was tough, but I did enjoy doing it. It was cool to see the difference between the before and after.
I ended up doing 2 walls in total, one in each classroom. I was slower than the guys at it, but I did my best and that's all that matters.
The fumes were really strong, so we had to make sure to take breaks and go outside and get some fresh air. We went to the pouporia and got some té fríos - Yay! :D My fav! A funny thing happened when the guys tried to open them though. Pastor Brent was trying to hit off the top and ended up hitting it so hard that the bottom broke off! And then Jeff tried to open Nic's and his broke too! Needless to say, the rest of us went to Marco to get him to open ours as he opened his without any issues. After our little refresher, we got back to work. Kathy and Jen joined us after lunch and we were able to get all the walls finished by the time it was time to go. Here's some pics of us hard at work.
![]() |
| There's me in the corner! |
Tonight, I stayed later at the Team House while Dale and Carolyn took Jeff and Joanne back to their place for a bit. I got to hang out with the team and we ended up playing a bunch of games. It was really cool to be able to hang out with the girls and Nic outside of the normal busy schedule. I feel like I got to know them a bit better and see different sides of some of them. Julia, for instance, can be REALLY crazy, but in a good way. She was kind of all over the place, which is a side of her that apparently only comes out in the later evening, during the time that we're usually gone by.
Anyways, so we ended up playing Dutch Blitz for a while. There were so many of us wanting to play that we actually had to do teams. But there weren't enough people for everyone to have a partner so I was left being the only one without a partner. It was really hard keeping up with everyone. While each person on the teams only had to focus on one task, whether it be flipping from the deck or dispersing from the woodpile, I had focus on both at the same time. I was able to keep up for a while, but I slowly started to fall back. I was exhausted and honestly I was starting to become disheartened. It's not a good feeling when after every round your points keep going down and you steadily sink deeper into last place. I almost hit the point where I just wanted to go hide in the bathroom and cry. I know, I know, it sounds stupid to get worked up like that over a game, but it's hard when all the odds are against you and you try so hard that you're to the point of exhaustion, but yet you have nothing to show for it. I think it's harder for me because I am a very competitive gamer. I blame my parents for that. They're both really competitive when it comes to games and it's like I got a double dose of it from both of them. Now I'm by no means a sore loser, but it is a blow to the confidence when you continually get negative points. It's a sucky feeling. We finally switched over to Phase 10 for a bit, but we got bored of that after a while and switched back to Dutch Blitz. Nic left at that point, so I was able to have a partner this time, which was so much nicer than going it alone. Needless to say, Taylor and I kicked butt as a team :P
Despite the rough feelings at one point, overall it was a really good evening :) I really did enjoy spending more time with the team. I wish I could have been able to stay later other evenings and spent more time with them. But, unfortunately, that was not in my control.
Tomorrow we're back at the kinder school doing some more painting, but this time we're all going in and doing decorative painting. I'm really excited for it :)
Until tomorrow! Hasta mañana!
~ Cass Haines ~




No comments:
Post a Comment